Articles

Just another day

In Updates on July 4, 2013 by triotriotrio Tagged: ,

Flag from Fort McHenry

Flag from Fort McHenry

Is the 4th just another day?

It is in Hong Kong. This is my third Fourth of July in Hong Kong and I find myself a little more reflective than usual. I do not tend to be a flag carrying, apple pie eating kind of person but being away from America at these key junctures and has given me a new perspective on what it means to be an American.

I find myself not only missing the food and places but also the small nuances that make us unique. On a recent trip to America I was totally absorbed into listening to the accents. I was savoring the turn of phrases that people use. And I especially soaked in the patriotic symbols that are around every corner that only came to my light when they were absent so long.

So Happy Birthday USA!

One Response to “Just another day”

  1. Oh! thus be it ever, when freemen shall stand
    Between their loved home and the war’s desolation!
    Blest with victory and peace, may the heav’n rescued land
    Praise the Power that hath made and preserved us a nation.
    Then conquer we must, when our cause it is just,
    And this be our motto: “In God is our trust.”
    And the star-spangled banner in triumph shall wave
    O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave!

Leave a Reply

