Articles

When a blueberry met a pancake

In Food, Hong Kong, Pancakes on April 16, 2013 by triotriotrio Tagged: , , , ,

saffron

A sad showing for a dish with such rich heritage

Throughout history there have been great food meetings. When peanut butter met jelly, ice cream and the cone and the hot dog and the bun, these are just a few.

But I would like to think that when the blueberry met the pancake, this encounter was just as important as the previous encounters mentioned. I have no historical proof, but I imagine that the blueberry is responsible for the pancake filling phenomena. The humble and simple blueberry took the pancake to its next level of greatness.

I enjoy a plain pancake but the ones that really get me excited are the ones that a little more complex.

Saffron Bakery

Stanley Beach, Hong Kong

Sunday was a beautiful day. It was clear and warm and I was spending the day checking out an art exhibition along the promenade. Saffron Bakery is an independent bakery that has a reputation for some speculator-baked goods. Their coconut tart is one of my favorites. As you can imagine, I was excited to see that the Sunday special was Blueberry Pancakes.

I will not go into much detail because they were a complete failure. The experience would turn me off from ever trying them again.

Low points:

1. Thimble of syrup, just plain stingy

2. No sides (butter or powered sugar)

3. Starchy (heavy and undercooked, I could detect pieces of uncooked baking power in the middle)

High points:

1. The blueberries were the small ripe type that still had a little pop in them.

I am sad to say that the McDonald’s next door serves a finer hotcake at 25% the price. Very disappointing outing especially since I like to support local businesses.

Final Rating:

Some Merit –  ★★

Leave a Reply

