Articles

Stinky Tofu – Part II

In Food, Taipei, Taiwan on August 2, 2011 by triotriotrio Tagged:

Night Market

Many of you may know that I like to think of myself as adventurous, especially when it comes to trying new foods. But at the beginning of the Chinese New Year I was stopped cold by my first encounter with stinky tofu. It was so foul that I was unable to even get two bites down.

Stinky Tofu Stinky Tofu

On my recent trip to Taipei, I decided to give it a second try.  The reason for this decision is two-fold. First, the vendor that I sampled my first bite from was a seasonal vendor. So it is possible that the fare does not represent the highest quality standard when it comes to the fermented bean curd. Second, Taipei is known for its street markets. And stinky tofu is something that is highly praised. My friend James, who is a Taipei native, also encouraged me to give it a second try.

Setting the scene: stinky tofu simmering in the deep fryer gives off an aroma like one is completely surrounding by a crowd of people with BO. It permeates everything. I was happy to see that the stand that I had chosen was more than just product on stick. They had sliced it down the middle and had added coleslaw or some type of pickled leafy vegetable. I could also clearly see thinly sliced chili peppers sprinkled on top.

Stinky Tofu Stinky Tofu

First bite: there was heat but the stink shone through. It was tangy with a slight taste of something spoiled. Perhaps it is in part because I am not used to it but it doesn’t have the same type of pungent taste that one relishes with a strong blue cheese. The other thing is that this treat is piping hot. Not something that usually goes well with a stinky offering.

Evaluation: I thought it was pretty good. It is not my favorite thing but I could eat the whole thing. Next time, I will share it with a friend in order for everyone to enjoy a little piece of this delight. Stinky Tofu

3 Responses to “Stinky Tofu – Part II”

  1. As a friend, no thanks. I’ll wait for the spagetti.

  2. so, did you name it “stinky tofu”? remember “stinky cheese” from our childhood??

    • Stinky Tofu is the official name, I didn’t make that up. Yes – I remember stinky cheese. That is a mild whiff compared to the bats of simmering tofu. It is really a powerful smell!

Leave a Reply

