Articles

Dim Sum – I’ll Have Some

In Food, Hong Kong on January 9, 2011 by triotriotrio

Dim sum is a Cantonese term for a type of Chinese dish that involves small individual portions of food, usually served in a small steamer basket or on a small plate.

I am not a professional food critic nor am I an expert on Chinese cuisine but I do know what I like. And I do enjoy eating good food. Before arriving in Hong Kong I had a few experiences eating dim sum. The few places I have been in DC were good but it was not until Jennifer and I had lunch at an out of the way place near our apartment that the pieces started to fall into place.

This lunch was a four piece harmony that took dim sum to a new level for me. It was simple and divine. The beauty of the meal was the simplicity of the preparation along with the quality of the ingredients.

First course: Cucumber salad

Simple but tasty

The salad was prepared with a slight acid base and served with shallots. The pieces were cut in a rough manner which implied a throw away attempt but instead the dish rested on a combination of complex tastes to make it shine.

Second course: Spring Rolls

Classic taste

The rolls were served hot and crispy. They were filled with classic tastes and were a perfect accompaniment to the other dishes.

Third course: Soup dumplings

A new level of preparation

These were hands down the best soup dumplings I have ever had. The key that made them so good was the fact that the outer covering was paper thin but yet they held in all the broth goodness.

Fourth course: Shrimp dumpling

So good!

This was the exclamation point at the end of the meal! The dumplings were so full of flavor. The little roe on top popped with great fragrance and texture.

One of the things that made the dinner exceptional is a dark brown vinegar that is served with all the courses. I have never seen this before. Also note, there was no soy sauce on the table. The last point that I will make is that this place is not on the “Top 10” dim sum places of Hong Kong. It is just a neighborhood place. This fact makes me so excited at the possibilities of what dim sum is to come for me.

3 Responses to “Dim Sum – I’ll Have Some”

  1. Wow – are you sure you’re not a food critic undercover in Hong Kong? How’s the Italian there? or have you found the perfect pancake? keep us posted.

  2. I am so jealous! Please blog about every dim sum experience, I will be captivated.

Leave a Reply

